MPW.70 / 2018
Katherine Emery / MPW.70

Each year MPW honors several of its participants with awards recognizing exceptional levels of work, determination and spirit throughout the workshop.

The Howard Chapnick Award is given annually in honor of the legendary Black Star photo agency founder, long-time MPW faculty member, and author of Truth Needs No Ally. It recognizes a photographer who, with exceptional honesty and integrity, explores and documents an issue or story of great social concern. This year's winner was Sarah Ann Jump for her story "Quiet is the Enemy".

The Spirit of the Workshop Award is given annually to a photographer who not only creates an exceptional body of work throughout the week, but also one who fully embraces the philosophy of MPW, seeking to not only improve their own skills but to help fellow participants as well. This year's winner was Katherine Emery.

Team Awards recognize outstanding effort and work of a photographer from each team.

Angus Mordant - Team Chapnick
Nigel Rumsey - Team Cliff & Vi
Jennifer Mosbrucker - Team Cox
Daniel Carde - Team Gilka
Jennifer Guyton - Team Lee