MPW.69 / 2017
PatrĂ­cia Monteiro / MPW.69

Each year MPW honors several of its participants with awards recognizing exceptional levels of work, determination and spirit throughout the workshop.

The Howard Chapnick Award is given annually in honor of the legendary Black Star photo agency founder, long-time MPW faculty member, and author of Truth Needs No Ally. It recognizes a photographer who, with exceptional honesty and integrity, explores and documents an issue or story of great social concern. This year's winner was Trevor Frost for his story "Embracing Vulnerability".

The Spirit of the Workshop Award is given annually to a photographer who not only creates an exceptional body of work throughout the week, but also one who fully embraces the philosophy of MPW, seeking to not only improve their own skills but to help fellow participants as well. This year's winner was Erin Lefevre.

Team Awards recognize outstanding effort and work of a photographer from each team.

Mac Stone - Team Chapnick
Nathan Howard - Team Cliff & Vi
Victoria Sarno Jordan - Team Cox
Cheney Orr - Team Gilka
Patrícia Monteiro - Team Lee