MPW.67 / 2015
Birgit Krippner / MPW.65

Each year MPW honors several of its participants with awards recognizing exceptional levels of work, determination and spirit throughout the workshop.

The Spirit of the Workshop Award is given annually to a photographer who not only creates an exceptional body of work throughout the week, but also one who totally embraces the philosophy of MPW, seeking to not only improve his/her own skills but to help fellow participants as well. This year's winner was Matthew Herp.

The Howard Chapnick Award is given annually in honor of the legendary Black Star photo agency founder, long-time MPW faculty member, and author of Truth Needs No Ally. It recognizes a photographer who, with exceptional honesty and integrity, explores and documents an issue or story of great social concern. This year's winner was Chet Strange for his story "Half Empty".

Team Awards recognize outstanding effort and work of a photographer from each team.

Jasper Doest - Team Chapnick
Loren Elliott - Team Cliff & Vi
Lauren Schneiderman - Team Gilka
Niko Koppel - Team Gilka Spirit
Birgit Krippner - Team Lee
Will Saunders - Team Eppridge